Party like…you value your health?

Hey everyone!

I am currently on day 8 of an incessant and inconsiderate migraine. I’ve also been very moody. I would say it’s hard to be in a good mood when your brain feels like it’s trying to escape your skull…but maybe I’m just moody.

I’ve been trying to figure out where this is coming from. Are my muscles stiff and tense? Am I too stressed? Am I coming down with something? Are my muscles stiff and tense because I’m too stressed and so I’m coming down with something? Because I’m just not sure what the reason is, I’ve been trying everything: stretching, drinking tons of water, going to sleep early, taking brain breaks while studying, drinking tea, eating healthy, and doing yoga. And all the while I’m thinking “Please let this be the magic cure for this awful, awful pain!” 

Unfortunately, this migraine is a BITCH going nowhere fast. BUT in the midst of treating my body like solid gold, I had a thought:

Why do we only endorse healthy beliefs and actions when we’re sick?

Obviously, some people lead consistently healthy lives. And the rest of us hate you are cheering you on. But for the most part, we are busy, tired, and stressed. So slowing down and taking care of ourselves is often a second thought. But there does seem to be something that most twenty-somethings generally make time for. Partying. 

So, I’m going to make some parallels between partying and taking care of our health that will be helpful for me, if no one else.

1. Going out even though we’re tired/not feeling well/don’t want to

 It’s Friday night. You just got home from a long and exhausting week at work/school. You are so. tired. Your friend calls you and asks you if you want to go to out. There’s no real party plan, she just wants to get out there. You mostly just want to curl up and watch Netflix, but you had a hard week – you feel you’ve earned some time to let loose and get those endorphins moving. You agree to get ready and go out, even though you’re tired and aren’t totally on board. You’ll probably get into it once you the party starts!

Now let’s just switch this up a little bit.

It’s Friday night. You just got home from a long and exhausting week at work/school. You are so. tired. Your friend calls you and asks you if you want to go work out. There’s no real exercise plan, she just wants to get out there. You mostly want to curl up and watch Netflix, but you had a hard week – you feel you’ve earned some time to let loose and get those endorphins moving. You agree to to get ready and exercise, even though you’re tired and aren’t totally on board. You’ll probably get into it once the workout starts!

Can someone please tell me why we can be bleeding from our ears and have no problem going out, but when we have a hang nail we can’t go for a run? Honestly, I don’t get it. But I’m in the same boat! 

2. Drinking Games

Take a sip of your alcoholic drink every time Trump is an idiot or Hillary is a woman. Take a shot every time Pablo Escobar pulls up his pants. Chug the rest of your drink every time Netflix asks you if you’re still watching. Why? To get super drunk. 

You know what’s even better than poor life decisions and liver damage? Hydration.

How about this. Take a sip of your 2L water bottle every time Trump mentions China. Take a shot of of lemon water every time PM Trudeau mentions feminism. Chug the rest of your water bottle every time someone sends you a snapchat. Oh my god. We’d never get sick. 

I need to know how it’s possible to drink an octagon of beers or 2 bottles of wine, but getting 8 cups of water is THE HARDEST CHALLENGE IN THE WORLD. Really though, so hard.

3. Spending all our money on booze.

The other day I thought to myself: Self, you know what I would like? A water bottle and some new yoga pants. Maybe some running socks so my feet stop bleeding in my shoes. Yes? 

NO.

My brain is like, “But Gabriella, you don’t have that kind of disposable income! Save your pennies to pay your rent.” Then what happens is this:

  • I thank my brain for being rational and saving me from spending unnecessarily
  • I pat myself on the back for not wasting money
  • I remember I am throwing a party and buy $80.00 worth of alcohol.

Seriously? At least the water bottle and pants would have potentially added a few years to my life…


Okay, so here’s my plan. Last year for my 25th birthday I threw a pretty fun party. I had a candy table, a bar, a DJ and a dance floor, a photo booth with wigs and props, and an area where people sat and caught up with one another. But 26 just got…healthier.

Gabriella’s Super-Amazingly-Healthy-and-Awesome 26th Birthday Bash!!!

Featuring: 

  • A fruit table: local organic hand picked fruits in fair trade baskets!
  • A vegetable table: home grown balcony vegetables served on BPA free trays!
  • Zumba: You like to dance? Join us on the dance floor for 4 hours of drop in Zumba!
  • Flavoured Water Bar: Enjoy a wide selection of water naturally flavoured with Ontario grown fruit!
  • Yoga and meditation: Feeling more zen, want to take a load off? The yoga and meditation area is for you – complete with yoga mats and towel service!
  • Photobooth: Pose with your friends in front of a backdrop of Canada’s Food Guide!
  • Raffle: Write down your favourite healthy recipe for a chance to win a $20.00 Lululemon gift card!

Dress code: Workout casual

This may just be the best idea I’ll never do. Until then, my birthday is April 1st and I would like a box of chocolates and a puppy.

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-11-32-33-pm

 

 

Leave a Reply

