Packing, Over-Sleeping, and VIA Railing

Good morning, friends!

This morning I am en route to Ottawa. I’m super excited because, MY DOG. And, you know…my family and friends and my car and other awesome luxuries. But guys, my dog.

Actually, you know what? Pause text. Here’s a picture of my dog.

DSC_0828_01.JPG

So anyway, I’m on the VIA Rail train but it was a bit touch and go this morning.

Anyone who knows me really well knows that packing is the hardest task in the world for me. The weirdest part is that between a long distance family and a long distance boyfriend I end up packing a lot. It just never seems to get easier though…

I always tell myself, “This time I’ll just throw some stuff in a bag and call it a day,” but that never happens. I also try to convince myself that packing is not really a high stakes situation. I don’t know anyone who has ever been like,

“Oh my god. I wouldn’t have had all of my belongings stollen while crossing the street if I had packed the white shirt instead of the black shirt!”

But, no luck. I also remind myself that during a typical six days (the amount of time I’ll be in Ottawa) I wear maybe four different shirts and two different pairs of jeans. Still, I always leave having packed way too much.

So last night, I set aside some time to pack. And by ‘set aside some time’, I mean I came to terms with the fact that it’s not appropriate or acceptable to be naked in public for a week. Or ever.

I set out to pack with the following guidelines in mind:

  1. This is not a big deal 
  2. Bringing too much or forgetting something will not irrevocably alter my life
  3. I’m going to my parents house, and they have a washing machine
  4. If I pack my credit card, the rest is smooth sailing 
  5. I am a competent individual who has packed successfully many, many times 

A sea of clothes and confusion, a visit from a friend, cooking unnecessarily, a glass of wine, gossip with a roomie, and a quick knitting interlude later and I was all packed. It was 1:30 am and six hours later, but it was all done.

And see, it wasn’t so bad.

I set my alarm to 7:30 am – giving me tons of time to shower, dry my hair, eat and take the streetcar to Union station to catch my 9:20 train.


I woke up this morning feeling well rested.

Well, shit. That’s never a good sign. I know people who always wake up ready to take on a fresh, new day. I am not one of them.

So anyway, today started with a big, fat

oops.

I guess I was ready to take on the world at 8:23 am and not earlier. Turns out I had set my alarm for 8:30am instead of 7:30 am. I now had 22 minutes before I had to leave. Interestingly, instead of panicking I stayed in bed a little longer. Then I got up and casually showered. I blow dried my hair a little bit, got dressed, moseyed my way down to the street car stop, and waited there for a while.

8:53. Maybe I should take an über. Waited a little bit longer at the streetcar stop. Called an über. The rest of my should-have-been-stressful morning fell into place. I managed to stay calm while it took my driver three bouts of the same light turning green for us to take the first leg of the trip. Got to the train station at 9:07. Tons of time!

 Gabriella’s tip for staying calm in stressful situations: Channel your inner Bob Marley!

Don’t worry, about a thing. Because every little thing, is gonna be alright! – Bob Marley

 So now, I am stress free on my way to see my dog.

[Pause text for dog picture]

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 11.27.02 AM

 I will occupy the rest of my train ride watching Pride and Prejudice and knitting, because I am secretly 70 years old. Ironically, I am sitting next to a wonderful grandmotherly woman, who looks like she actually is 70 years old. She is playing with her tablet, sending texts on her blackberry, and listening to an mp3 player.

She’s probably listening to Tupac.
2 thoughts on “Packing, Over-Sleeping, and VIA Railing

Leave a Reply

